Tis the Season

‘My idea of Christmas, whether old-fashioned or modern, is very simple: loving others’ – Bob Hope.img_6106I read recently that the happiest people put up their decorations early. I do not believe this to be an accurate statement (maybe ‘craziest’ is more appropriate) however I did persuade my mum to let my brother decorate the house in late November (this did not materialise in the end). I will also be prepping my Beijing flat for the lavish season – despite not actually spending any part of Christmas here. Generally I have always been a huge Christmas lover however since moving so far away, I am particularly fond of it.

Christmas is the season that brings not only me home but everyone I love and who is important to me. This applies to many families. Everyone puts down whatever they are in the middle of doing, they focus on spending quality time together, listening to Christmas classics (hello Bing Crosby), exchanging gifts, attending carol services and eating their bodyweight equivalent in whatever food they can get their hands on (for me, it’s cheese). Though in many ways it is a season that is also hugely idealized through the films (Love Actually), songs (All I Want For Christmas Is You) and social media generally, for me Christmas has never disappointed. It is hectic and chaotic, it is colourful and bright, it is cold and cosy. Starbucks presents pumpkin latte’s and Santa themed flasks, markets sell hot mulled wine and homemade, decorative items you simply have to purchase even though it is not useful, nor does it match the colour theme of your living room. Parent’s take children on scenic car journey’s through the most brightly lit gardens and houses – a pastime I still enjoy, there is always that one house that has the most amazing Christmas lights. John Lewis presents a heart-warming advertisement with a catchy song that will hit the charts, Fenwick’s creates a wonderful window display with moving elves and singing snowmen, The Snowman is shown on TV most evenings, woolly jumpers and bobble hats get thicker and brighter and every town dedicates a night to switching on the Christmas lights. Whether you are close with your community or not, everyone is united with Christmas fever.

Within all of this chaos is the simplicity of spending quality time with my family and my friends. This is the time of year we are all in one place for at least 24 hours, our individual lives combine and entwine for a period of time. We love, we laugh, we share, we hug, we appreciate and we enjoy. We all pick up where we left off like we have never been apart. This completely makes my Christmas. It is a period of time I will continue to adore. The stress, the expense, the flashing flights and Jingle Bells on repeat simply add to ‘the most wonderful time of the year’. And it’s the most wonderful time because I am able to spend it with the most wonderful people. That truly is the most important aspect of this crazy season.

Leave a comment